top of page

BUS CONVERSION 

one step at a time

Search

Generating some progress

Even with out the bus here I have found possibility to progress on the project by working on the generator I picked up. I showed it briefly. It was another Craigslist find a hour away. I picked up a fairly nasty looking generator that had low usage and a good price. I could only talk the guy down to $700 but figured that I could clean it up a bit and flip it even if I didn't want to use it. So far I have additional $1000 in parts, making a total of $1700 cost. But this was half of what I had budgeted for the powerhouse and this one runs about $10,000 new.


It is 9 kw so will also serve as backup generator for our property. By installing it in the bus it will have proximity to 175 gallon diesel fuel tank. That would run the generator for 350 hours (about 15 days non stop)!


First some BEFORE pictures:





Looks a little scary eh?!


But nothing like some progress to make me start feeling better about the project. I am working on it from the top down and am waiting for a lift to do the underside. (It weighs 500 lbs). Lift was waiting for the new mount brackets as they were rusted beyond usefulness. New ones are done and painted so that part will be next on the schedule.









11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page