top of page

BUS CONVERSION 

one step at a time

Search

LIGHTING

I liked the continuous led lighting in my last bus but I wanted this one to be even better. I decided to run it the whole length of both sides and inset it in a groove in the shelving. I was originally going to run it in aluminum diffuser track as the product dissipates the heat, but as I needed about 80 foot. My son had a great idea to just route the groove so it would hold the diffuser cover and then glue a bar of flat stock aluminum into the bottom. That brought my price down from over $300 to around $75. And it is actually more massive aluminum so more of a heat sink.

Showing LED and bar in groove


Here with LED in the groove


Final result with diffuser installed.

If you look back at the tape I used you can see two rows of LEDs. There is a row of white and a row of RGB. RGB alone can approximate white but not as bright. Having both will allow a true white and also the spectrum of colors. It is called RGBW. This particular tape has 300 of each per 16 foot roll. Since the RGB led consists of three LEDs in one it means a roll of RGBW has 1200 lights per 16 foot.

It allows for some pretty spectacular lighting.

These are all on different zones so can be individually adjusted. I used white only for the task lighting over the kitchen but all uplighting is colored. It is capable of allot more than I will ever need but it will be fun to set the mood with a little color sometimes.

16 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page