top of page

BUS CONVERSION 

one step at a time

Search

OFF TO THE DOCTOR

I did what I could to try to solve the air brake system issue. The problem was that the brake side of the system would not air up and release brakes. So the parking brake was stuck on. I spent a few hours out there removing and disassembling the parking brake switch ...where one mechanic recommended I start. It was a major pain as it involved removing three copper flare fittings that were behind the piece. There was no space to work and there was no slack to the copper lines. Plus they distorted as I moved it around to disassemble and that distortion had to be reversed in show motion as I reassembled. Then add hot, sweaty, and bent back to the equation. But the switch was not the issue. It was a little frustrating that it didn't solve things and issues further into the system was something I was not prepared for.


Partially because I'd really be pushing into a new area of experience, and partly because I was getting pressure from the management of the property when it was parked. I decided it was time to get it to a mechanic and just throw money at it to get it solved.


I contacted mechanic and then Stepps Towing. Driver Jake Goolsby showed up right on time with a giant tow truck. He started poking around and found the spot to air up the system. It inflated the pillows that give the bus a cushy ride and it lifted about 6" higher.

Apparently this also released brakes. Then he got the lift under it and chained it, much like you would do with a car but on massive scale.


Then for the last step he told me he had to disengage the transmission. But apparently the drive shaft was pressed in and not easily removable. So he tells me we have to remove an axle. Yeah, great. We got the hubcaps off and you could see that the fake rims (simulator) had to be removed. It was held on by the massive lug nuts. He said he had not tools to remove it. Fortunately outside the park and just across the street was a tire shop. I ran over there to see if the operator could swing by to help. He said he couldn't leave. I suggested to drive that we drag it as far as his shop and pull the axle there. He suggested we run the bus so it would lubricate the transmission for the process so that is what we did.


Got it out of the park with some finesse. It was about a 70 foot long assembly making some sharp turns. Once at the tire shop things went pretty well. Got the axle pulled and put some rags in to stop oil from running out. And before long it was ready to roll.


All it all it took us about three hours to get it ready, and cost $850 for the tow which included about three hours travel time for him, and I got a sunburn and more education. The bus is now at the Doctor's office and should get seen sometime soon.





37 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page