top of page

BUS CONVERSION 

one step at a time

Search

One more try... We

Well, I knew it would start as I left in in running condition but I wasn't sure it would not stall after a while and I had been way to tired to want the disappointment that day. Anyway, I returned with coolant, motor oil, and tools to continue on with the attempts to fix the fuel system.


Bus took 6 or 8 gallons of water/antifreeze and a quart of oil. Need to figure out how to measure power steering fluid and check that before adding.



So bus started right up. Ran for about three minutes and then quit. I pulled off fuel line at the motor and attached small pump. Fuel was right there so supply was not the issue. Then I hooked same pump further up the line and was unable to draw it through the fuel pump even with secondary pump. Then reversed flow pumping back towards fuel pump and noticed leaks in fuel line and fuel pump.


Since there is fuel right there but I can't draw it up to fuel pump I am assuming that the leaks are letting air in and preventing the secondary pump from moving fuel.


At this point I think I am going to get the fittings to install the secondary diesel pump down by the main fuel line and see if I can boost it into the pump. Also will order new fuel line and a gasket for the fuel filter.


Fun, fun.

I am ready to get this thing moved. Now that title arrived I can go and get a tag. Also I took a peek at flooring today so starting to remember it might be something other than a mechanics lesson...

7 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page