top of page

BUS CONVERSION 

one step at a time

Search

Picking up parts along the way

One of the good things with a long term project is possibility to look ahead and pick up parts. One of the top 10 purchases for this project was going to be the oven. I wanted something small that looked like a conventional oven. I narrowed it down to a microwave with drop down drawer and controls on top (since it was going under counter). A microwave seemed ideal, but being the only oven I didn't want it just for reheating. So I figured a microwave convection oven would be best choice. There weren't allot of options with door and controls how I wanted. I narrowed it down to a couple brands and models. All were around $1800 and up. Not cheap.


Anyway, since I could plan ahead I started scanning Craigslist. I ended up finding a KitchenAid in immaculate condition (like the one in the photo). It was in a house built in 2008 but it was barely lived in with European owners only using it occasionally. Like new! It was four hours round trip to Naples, but I picked it up for a little over $200. That took a good bite out of my budget, freeing up $1500 for other things.




10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page