top of page

BUS CONVERSION 

one step at a time

Search

Shower Wall Adventure

Pouring shower walls was going to be a bit more of a challenge. Not only were there two halves that I wanted to align together but I wanted a separation between water and sky. I had read that epoxy didn't stick to aluminum well so I cut a groove at the skyline and inserted an aluminum bar. I primed the water area black like the floor since I wanted the same rich tones, but I primed the sky blue since I wanted it lighter. I also used different pigments.

Both panels side by side with separator bar

Closeup showing bars and a bit of clay used to fill a gap

I decided to pour the sky first as I thought it was easier.

The first pour came out reasonably well but I poured a second, mostly clear with some adjustments over the top as I had a couple light spots and also I wanted the thickness so that when bar was removed there would be a good discrepancy that would be able to contain the pour for the water area.

I poured the water without mishap. The result at that point was decent.

I stood it up to get the effect. I was not entirely happy with the coloration so decided to do a second pour on the water as well. I didn't like the interruption in the dark blue at the skyline. Also I didn't want as much black showing through. But that was another day...

5 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page