top of page

BUS CONVERSION 

one step at a time

Search

The path to COOL is not.

Had a pretty good day this last weekend as I got allot of the electrical supplies together and cut the openings in the roof for the AC units. Also got all the supply lines pulled for the AC. Here is photo of dirty bus roof and with holes cut and conduit laid out. It will all be cleaned, fastened and painted before AC units get attached.

It was pretty nasty work cutting aluminum overhead in 100 degree interior. On top of that the next layer was fiberglass insulation ... which everyone loves. Especially when covered with metal flakes and sweat. Then to really complete the discomfort I decided to remove the old AC (already missing from the photo above). It was covered with dust and wood chips (as I had just cut some oak branches above it) and I got a half a bucket load of that dumped on my head. Turned me into an itchy powdered mess so I took a break and took a half shower.

Once I was cleaned up I got the new AC up on the roof. I was proud of myself as I had read about some of the contraptions people made to hoist the ACs. And I just walked it straight up the ladder leaning on the bus. I was pretty careful, knowing it would destroy $500 AC if I slipped. I do love the challenge of working alone. Overall it was a good day. Here is the AC Layout.


6 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page